An Open Letter to My Niece

My dear sweet little girl,

By the time I want you to read this you will no longer be the sweet innocent little child you are today. You will be a pre-teen girl who is faced with the hard decisions life is beginning to throw at you. I am writing this letter to you now because our pop-culture has inspired me to. Right now you are one of the few little girls in my life. The Good Lord has blessed me with boys and I’m sure this is part of the reason why. See, Auntie shudders to think of the expectations that the society you are being raised in is going to put on you. I shudder to think you may grow up idolizing girls like Miley Cyrus and Rhianna. While these girls no doubt have some amazing talents I’m not sure they are who I would hope you will look up to. So sweetie I’m writing to give you some characteristics I hope you will look for in an idol.

If you look back throughout history the names that are remembered are always the ones that are sophisticated: Grace Kelly, Lady Di, Jackie O, Barbra Streisand, Oprah, Angelina Jolie and I hope one day Jennifer Lawrence. These women are strong, sophisticated and classy.

That doesn’t mean they take crap from others. Angelina Jolie is a pioneer in human rights and at the same time is a renegade who has publically gone against the grain on a number of issues, including her lack of desire to solidify her long time relationship with Brad Pitt.

So when you get to the point in your life where you want to be like Miley and tell the world you can do what you want to and say what you want to remember this; you can do that with class. Read some of the articles quoting Jennifer Lawrence talking about why she didn’t starve her self to play Katniss Everdeen. Watch a Grace Kelly movie. Read about about all the charitable work Angelina Jolie has done over the years. Then make the decision to say what you want to say.

While you will only be young for a short period of time they are called your formative years for a reason. The actions you partake in now will form your life. You can make the decision to change the path you are on at any time but it wont be easy.

In return for you thinking before you speaking and remembering that class is always better than shock value, I promise to try my hardest to live up to the standards of the women I hope you idolize. I vow to be classy myself, to walk in God’s grace, to think before I speak and most importantly remember there is always somebody watching.

With all my love,

Auntie Rae

One thought on “An Open Letter to My Niece

  1. This letter made me cry thinking about when Amelia and Brooklynn will be in high school. I know they are still young right now but before we know it they will be in high school and dealing with boys, peer pressure, bad role models, etc… I hope Brookie sees this letter and takes your advice to look up to the strong women and not necessarily to the ones who are “cool.”

Leave a comment